Jetsons Lifestyle May Be Possible

When I was younger, in Middle School, I had the pleasure of watching October Sky.  It’s cliche and corny to say, but I instantly created a love for space.  I went through the phase of asking every one of my family members for Model Rockets as Christmas presents.  I launched a few, hoping to become a modern day Homer Hickam hoping to become one of the most intelligent man in the world at the mere age of 13, obviously I failed.

However, the thought of being able to travel to the unknown fascinates me to this day.  Traveling beyond the outer boundaries of our planetary limitations serves to me as a modern day Christopher Columbus.  I’ll blatantly admit that I am not well versed in Space, but deeply fascinated with the concept.  The article that drew me to write about my thoughts was published on Space.com, its a concept that has been around for some time now, but hopefully 2014 is the year.  Virgin Galactic, aka Richard Branson who owns an island you can now rent, has made it a goal for 2014 to offer commercial space flight to individuals.  Don’t worry though, you’ll be able to buy a seat on a spaceship for cheap, only $250,000.

Overlooking the deep pocket one would need to pay for a seat, Virgin Galactic is paving the way for something new that could lead to private entities taking it upon themselves to make new discoveries.  The concept of shifting intergalactic discoveries shifting from government driven enterprises to the private sector I believe allows for an increase in the possibility of discovery in space.  Obviously this would be years upon years down the road, but I don’t think that anyone on this planet ever imagined that it would be possible for space travel to ever become a private venture, and now the day for it is hopefully within this year.  I can only hope that within my lifetime a private citizen can buy an affordable seat on a commercial space flight and visit some type of space station.  Maybe my grandchildren’s, children’s, children’s, children’s will be able to buy some type of floating villa in space and vacation out there someday, which makes me jealous. There are a million questions that come to mind dealing with the logistic of commercial spaceflight such as what kind of regulations will become important, chance of death, chance of being stuck in space, etc. so for now I’ll take a rain check.  But to the 600 people who have signed up, power to you, let me know how it goes IF you make it back…

Hey in the words of the late great Neil Armstrong, commercial space travel would become the modern day, “one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

Leave a Reply

